honeyed whisky- a complete story

The night you lost me in the buzz

of one hazy crowd,

you reduced me to rose petals

blanketed between aching free verse.

You sunk my shattered teeth

in more heartbreak

than I could ever swallow.

My windpipe chimed a new

song every time you touched my skin.

Akin to that of claustrophobia…

Is this suffocation or love?

See when I fell for you,

I gave you everything.

I watched from beneath

harvest moons, half-witchy

with a heavy intuition of our story.

I felt you before your flesh found me.

I loved you before I could justify it

and I cried the night before you

even thought about cheating on me.

And yet, my heartstrings, harp

Haphazardly lay their weapons

every time you say Hediye.

Three syllables of familiarity with

the echo of a voice in the bottom of a well.

No dime or wish could ever release you.

A ghost, my demon, my madness,

its nothing short of masochism,

how much I loved you.

Is this love or suffocation?

Self-inflicted asphyxiation.

God heard my untimely predictions

and watched from her crown,

heaving.

She knew how much I needed this.

So when I forgave you for my selfish reasons,

She condemned me to an apology.

Nothing more.

Do you know what it’s like to choose

a mortal over eternity?

I chose your life over my salvation,

with no questions.

And so falling in love with you killed me.

I learned lessons in blood.

And no.

Not grazed knees,

I am leaving kidney-deep

because I ignored my intuition.

You will never know what it’s like

to break so beautifully.

I didn’t cry until I got on the Central line.

I travelled half-way across

London to get to where I was,

and I watched in silence, a route

I will never cross again.

I wish I had released my own soul

through the window

that whispered our secrets into

the summer air.

I wish I had

never watched you turn that corner

into my existence

for now, I have to repaint these walls

so deeply embellished with your face.

I likened you to alcohol,

and only just realised why.

You were the most beautiful intoxication,

I could ever swish between gritted teeth.

A dream-like substance

I gulped greedily to a four-month old grave,

large enough to swallow me whole.

Your name,

sharp whisky turned shard,

sliced my tongue, clean.

I hope you never discover

the suffocation of this inward bleeding.

I hope you never question why,

it took a week to unwrite

one tireless legacy.

Leave a comment